A HISTORY OF FLORIDA'S SENATE SECRETARIES 1839–Present

Name	Terms of Office	Home Town	Appointed/Elected	Other Service
James S. Robinson	1839-1842		Elected	Legislative Council, Chief Clerk—1838
Thomas T. Long	1843	Columbia County	Elected	Constitutional Convention—1865
Thomas Brown	1844	Tallahassee	Elected	Legislative Council—1829, 1838-President, (House)-1845 House—1845 Governor—1849-1853
Thomas F. King	1845		Elected	
Hugh Archer	1846	South Carolina	Elected	
Charles W. Downing	1847-1848	Duval County	Elected	Secretary of State—1849-1853
Neill McPherson	1850	Walton County	Elected	
William H. Mitchell	1852	Gadsden County	Elected	
D. G. Livingston	1854	Madison County	Elected	Constitutional Convention—1865
John S. Purviance	1855	Hamilton County	Elected	
Samuel J. Perry	1856	Madison County	Elected	
James E. Bowden	1858-1859 (adj.)	Hillsborough County	Elected	
B. F. Parker	1860	Jackson County	Elected	
John B. Whitehurst	1861	Jackson County	Elected	House—1854,1855
E. J. Judah	1862	Escambia County	Elected	
John B. Whitehurst	1863	Jackson County	Elected	House—1854,1855
Fred L. Villepigue	1864		Elected	Secretary of State—1853-1863
Bolling Baker	1865 (resigned 12/28; Fred L. Villipgue, Vice Sec.)	Gadsden County	Elected	House—1850
Fred L. Villepigue	1865-1866		Elected	
William Lee Apthorp	1868	Hillsborough County	Elected	
Charles Mundee	1869-1870		Elected	
Joseph Bowes	1871		Elected	
Samuel B. McLin	1872 (resigned 2/12/72)		Elected	Secretary of State—1873-1877 Acting Superintendent of Public Instruction—1874
LeRoy D. Ball	1872 (elected 2/17/72)		Elected	House—1874
Charles R. King	1873	Lake City	Elected	
Hugh A. Corley	1874	Sumter County	Elected	House—1875
Joseph Bowes	1875	· · · · ·	Elected	

1

A HISTORY OF FLORIDA'S SENATE SECRETARIES 1839–Present

Name	Terms of Office	Home Town	Appointed/Elected	Other Service
Robert Gamble	1877	Pioneer	Elected	Secession Convention—1861 Comptroller—1868-1873
James G. Gibbes	1879		Elected	
W. H. Babcock	1881-1883		Elected	
William MacWilliams	1885	St. Augustine	Elected	
Charles A. Finley	1889-1893	Columbia County	Elected	House—1879
T. J. Appleyard	1895-1905	Orange County	Elected	
Charles A. Finley	1907-1927	Columbia County	Elected	House—1879
Robert W. Davis, Jr.	1929-1943	Gainesville	Elected	
Hazel Seymour	1945		Elected	
Robert W. Davis, Jr.	1947-1963	Gainesville	Elected	
Edwin G. Fraser	1965-1970	Macclenny	Elected	House—Baker-1937,1939 Senate—District 29-1945-1948, 1952-1956, 1960-1963
Elmer O. Friday	1970-1974	Fort Myers	Elected	Senate—District 24-1962-1966 District 34-1967-1970
Joe Brown	1974-1996	Bristol	Elected	
Faye W. Blanton	1996-2008	Tallahassee	Elected	
Philip Twogood	2008-8/5/11	Tallahassee	Elected	Resigned 8/5/11 to head OPPAGA
Debbie Brown	8/8/11-1/10/12 1/10/12-10/31/22	Hosford	Appointed Interim Elected	
Tracy C. Cantella	11/1/22-11/22/22 11/22/22-Present	Tallahassee	Appointed Interim Elected	

30 Secretaries in the 1800s:
3 served multiple terms: John B. Whitehurst, (1861 and 1863) Fred L. Villepigue, (1864 and 1866) Joseph Bowes, (1871 and 1875)
9 Secretaries in the 1900s:
2 served in both centuries: T.J. Appleyard (1895-1905) and Charles A. Finley (1889-1893 and 1907-1927) 1 served multiple terms: Robert W. Davis, (1929-1943 and 1947-1963)
4 Secretaries in the 2000s:

1 served in both centuries: Faye W. Blanton (1996-2008)

Pursuant to the State Constitution, all Secretaries are elected.